The Island of a Thousand Smiles

I hadn’t had too much sleep the previous days, but I made it! I was on a bus on my way to El Nido, a small rather touristic village located on the northern part of the island of Palawan, Phillipines. Soon, I was embraced by its south-eastern vibe. Divers, tourists, backpackers, adventurers, travelers…

Island Hoping in El Nido Bay.

Island Hoping in El Nido Bay.

In this earthly paradise I got the chance to snorkel around the shores of some of the hundreds of isles that surround the gorgeous bay. Laughed, ate and drunk along with strangers as if we were life-long friends. Also, I got my first bed-bug experience of the trip (I seriously expected that to happen much later, but what the…).

Kids in El Nido.

Kids in El Nido.

Two days before leaving El Nido I met a couple of Spanish girls. They were divers, and we decided we would hire some motorbikes and explore the northern peninsula like true travelers. Hitting hard on the dirt road we got to meet and shake hands with some of the locals, people who were not as used to tourists as in El Nido. The kids were skipping and jumping on the way back home from school. They would emphatically wave and shout “Hello!” at us while we stormed across the road on our XRM’s… Then it hit me. Yeah! I am back! Finally! Back in South-East Asia!

Beautiful beach on the northern road of Palawan Island.

Beautiful beach on the northern road of Palawan Island.

Leave a Reply

